Scrappin' Good Times Blog

My Brother

Posted on: August 27, 2009

My brother is currently serving in Afghanistan. On July 19th he and some of the members of the 1st Battalion, 17th Infantry Regiment, 5th Stryker Brigade, 2nd Infantry Division from Fort Lewis, Washington were deployed to southern Afghanistan. Earlier this week we found out that on August 18th he was on patrol and his unit was attacked. Although he escaped unharmed two other soldiers lost their lives. Again on this past Tuesday, we found out that 4 more soldiers lost their lives. Needless to say, it has been such an emotional week. I fear for my brother’s safety, I am praying constantly. Every time I hear breaking news come on the radio or TV (whether it is the passing of Ted Kennedy or the recent fires) my heart drops and I pray that it isn’t news from Afghanistan.

I read somewhere that there are 60,000 troops in Afghanistan!! Does anyone else out there have loved ones serving in Afghanistan? Will you share with me so I can pray for the safety of your loved one? Tell me about them share a story, send me a picture. I’m praying for your loved ones even though I don’t know them personally.

This is my brother his wife and their baby.
4

My beautiful niece Zoe Brooke was born 3 days before he was deployed. I have started making cards for him so he can send to his wife. I know this has been difficult for her as well. Once I am done making some of my cards, I will post them. Take care for now 🙂

Cyndi V.

Here are two more pictures of my brother and little Zoe before he left…

jesse 1

29

4 Responses to "My Brother"

Let your brother know that we appreciate what sacrifice he has made and the many more men and women along with him. It is because of them that we have the freedom here to live our lives. Every American should pray for our troops daily. Thank you for sharing and reminding us that we should be uplifting in prayer these men and women.

God Bless
Mossie

Cyndi, I will most definitely keep your borther as well as all other soldiers serving our country in my prayers. I can’t imagine how scary this time must be for you and your family.

dear cyndi…i am so touched by your story on this website…i have been sending packages to our soldiers and baby gifts to their new babies for about 3 years now…if you would like to send me his mailing address, i would be honored to send him a package…my e-mail address is picture.this44@gmail.com if that is something you would like to do…from the bottom of my heart, a great big giant THANK YOU to your brother for his courage and his bravery and to your entire family for all of your sacrifices…God bless you all and all of our soldiers and God Bless America!!!!!!! oxoxox, judy

Mossie, Krista & Judy,
Thanks for you kind thoughts and words. Judy, I will email you my brother’s address.

Cyndi 🙂

Leave a Reply

Scrappin’ Good Times

564 W Arrow Hwy. San Dimas, CA

About Us

If you are looking for a great scrapbook store in Southern California, you can stop looking. Scrappin' Good Times in San Dimas, is the place to get all your scrapbooking products! Our Employees and Design Team members contribute to this blog. Feel free to make comments on any of the postings. Thank you, The Scrappin' Good Times Team ________________________________ Hey, we've been nominated again this year! Thanks to all of your votes we're number 1! Best Scrapbooking in the Los Angeles area WE'VE WON!!! Thanks to everyone who Voted! You've made a difference!

Scrappin’ Good Times on Twitter

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 137,047 hits

Pages

