Scrappin' Good Times Blog

My Sister’s Keeper

Posted on: July 10, 2009

Yesterday, Ryan and I went to go watch My Sister’s Keeper, which is a movie based on the book by Jodi Picult about a girl who has leukemia and her family.  The youngest child, Anna, was genetically engineered to be a perfect donor match for the child with leukemia, Kate.  After donating lympocytes and granulocytes and bone marrow and whatever else, Kate needs a kidney.  This is when Anna files a lawsuit against her parents for medical emancipation and says that she doesn’t want to donate her kidney to Kate (which is basically a life or death situation for Kate).  It is definitely a chick flick that will bring tears to your eyes, at least for me, because for some reason I have a really hard time keeping my eyes dry when watching/hearing someone else crying.  Anyway, I read the book a couple weeks ago, and even just reading the story brought tears to my eyes.  I have to say though, if you plan on seeing this movie, you might want to see the movie first, and THEN read the book.  There’s always differences when a book goes to screen and more often than not, the book is TEN times better than the movie.  I have to say, this is no execption.  This story brings up a lot of ethical and moral dilemmas to which there doesn’t really seem to be any one “right” answer.  If you are interested at all in this book/movie, check out: My Sister’s Keeper, the Movie website and My Sister’s Keeper, the Book website . The ending of the movie was drastically changed from the ending in the novel, which was a huge disappointment/surprise to me, but at the same time, it had some really great parts to it too.  =)

In other news, I’m trying to motivate myself to attempt to join the professional workforce (I need an income to fund my scrapbooking/crafts/amigurumi habits, I haven’t been able to do ANYTHING cuz I can’t afford to, which is depressing).  Let me tell yah, it’s hard.  I graduated in 2007 with a BS degree, but haven’t seen anything scientific since then.  Everyone says, it’ll come back to you, it’s just stored in the back of your mind, but I don’t really think it’ll happen that way.  I know that’s a negative attitude to have (although, more realistic, in my mind).  With that being said, wish me luck!  Any pointers/suggestions/comments about resume’s, interviews, jobs in general…. lemme know!  =)

Oh, this past Wednesday, I babysat for 5 hours.  I babysat for my Aunt and Uncle who have three little boys, ages 5, 4, and 2.  I have to say, keeping them entertained and happy was not the easiest.  I give props to those mommies and daddies out there, children are not easy, not that I ever thought they would be, but imagining being with and taking care of the kids 24/7/365 is beyond my realm of imagination.  I have to admit though, they are superly uber cute and not the terrors that some parents have to deal with.  =)

Alrite, that’s all for now.  Catchyah all on the flipside.  LOL.

❤ Allie

Leave a Reply

Scrappin’ Good Times

564 W Arrow Hwy. San Dimas, CA

About Us

If you are looking for a great scrapbook store in Southern California, you can stop looking. Scrappin' Good Times in San Dimas, is the place to get all your scrapbooking products! Our Employees and Design Team members contribute to this blog. Feel free to make comments on any of the postings. Thank you, The Scrappin' Good Times Team ________________________________ Hey, we've been nominated again this year! Thanks to all of your votes we're number 1! Best Scrapbooking in the Los Angeles area WE'VE WON!!! Thanks to everyone who Voted! You've made a difference!

Scrappin’ Good Times on Twitter

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 137,048 hits

Pages

