Scrappin' Good Times Blog

My Beloved Crystal

Posted on: April 27, 2009

 The day I hoped would never come has arrived.  My beloved cousin Crystal finally succumbed to the cancer. She fought a long and difficult battle. She fought hard. The whole time she was fighting she thought of us. I think she may have been fighting more for us than for herself.  I always felt like she nurtured us more than we nurtured her.  Up until the bitter end, she thought about us.  I was told that at Crystal’s request three people were using their cell phones and dialing friends and family so she could say her goodbyes. I received my phone call at about 4:30 last Thursday afternoon. She told me that she loved me and asked me to take care of her children.  She also called my mom, dad, brother and several other family members to say her goodbyes.

 

She passed away Thursday, April 23 at about 11:15 pm Colorado time. As much as we rushed to get the first flight out, we did not make it to see her before she let go.  Crystal passed in the same manner that she lived her life…It was not long or drawn out, absolutely no drama with grace and dignity.     .

 

I know you all only know Crystal through me.  I feel all of you understood what an amazing mother, wife, cousin and friend she was. I am so lucky to be connected through our wonderful hobby of scrapbooking to thousands of women who “just understand”. There are no words to thank you for all of the scrapbook pages that you donated.  We didn’t even put a dent in the scrapbook pages.  I honestly thought we would have a lot more time before Crystal left us.  I guarantee you that they will all be put to good use with pictures that I have and pictures that are still yet to be taken.  Your generous hearts will always live on through Crystal’s Scrapbooks.

 

I thank you all for the thoughts and prayers and graciously ask that you continue to pray for my family as we make our way through this difficult time.

 

I leave you with this beautiful poem that was forwarded to me by one of our Design Team Members Susan Bugelli.

 

God saw you getting tired,
And a cure was not to be.
So He put his arms around you,
and whispered, “Come to Me.”

With tearful eyes we
watched you suffer,
And saw you fall away
Although we couldn’t bear to lose you,
We could not ask you to stay.

A golden heart stopped beating,
Hard working hands laid to rest,
God broke our hearts to prove to us,
that He only takes the best.

 

{Author Unknown}

 

Trish

Tags:

4 Responses to "My Beloved Crystal"

beautifully written….

I’m am very deeply sorry for your loss…but she is in a beautiful place now in much better hands! God Bless You in these hard times….

perfectly said…i am once again touched by your love and relationship with Crystal…the family continues to be in my prayers…
chelle

Trish, I am so sorry for your loss, Lu Lu just mentioned to me about the blog that week. I wrote a note for Crystal and that Thursday she passed. I will continue to pray for you and your Family.

I know it’s hard but just know that all your love and hard work will show, her children how much she loved them in the books you make for them.

Take care and god bless you and the Nava & LaGrange family.

Leave a Reply

Scrappin’ Good Times

564 W Arrow Hwy. San Dimas, CA

About Us

If you are looking for a great scrapbook store in Southern California, you can stop looking. Scrappin' Good Times in San Dimas, is the place to get all your scrapbooking products! Our Employees and Design Team members contribute to this blog. Feel free to make comments on any of the postings. Thank you, The Scrappin' Good Times Team ________________________________ Hey, we've been nominated again this year! Thanks to all of your votes we're number 1! Best Scrapbooking in the Los Angeles area WE'VE WON!!! Thanks to everyone who Voted! You've made a difference!

Scrappin’ Good Times on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 137,028 hits

Pages

