Scrappin' Good Times Blog

We Need Your Help…

Posted on: December 2, 2008

Hi Girls,

My cousin Crystal has been diagnosed with terminal cervical cancer.  Here is the email that her husband wrote to friends and family:

 

Dear Family and Friends:

As you may or may not know Crystal was diagnosed with an aggressive rare type of Cancer located in and around the Cervix.  Unfortunately, since Crystal is HPV negative and completed annual Pap tests the problem wasn’t diagnosed until it reached stage 3.5 – 4 with the primary tumor growing to a length of 9 cm.  We will continue to explore all options, but this is a fast moving disease that is not curative.  This is difficult to say and it may sound like we are giving up, but that is not the case.  We are going to fight this disease and expect good things to happen.  

Radiation and Chemotherapy will start on November 24th t and we are confident that new combinations of therapy and or surgery (not to mention the support of the entire Kaiser Oncology staff) will reduce the size and slow the growth so Crystal can enjoy time with Rylee, Aiden, Gaven, family, and friends. 

No one knows for sure, but we were told to expect a couple of years depending on how she reacts to the upcoming 6-8 week treatment.  After that she must balance future treatments and quality of life.  With a little luck, your support, and prayers we are going for her 40th birthday (about 6 years from today).  We can do it… 

We appreciate all of your support, thoughts, prayer. Our door will remain open.  Crystal wants to make sure you know it is ok to visit and call anytime.  Her only request – no flowers. 

Crystal, Jason, Gaven, Aiden, Rylee

Crystal is more than my cousin. She is more like a sister and a best friend. She is 33 years old and she has a 2 ½ year old son named Aiden and a 8 month old daughter named Rylee.  She is married to Jason who has a 14 year old son named Gaven who Crystal treats as her own. 

 

Crystal worked so hard to become a nurse. The RN program is a 2 year program. She completed that and took it one step further and continued her education to get her bachelors degree in nursing.  The ironic part of all this is that she is an oncology nurse.  When she told me she wanted to get into oncology, I thought she was certifiably insane.  I could NEVER deal with all that sadness on a day to day basis.  Oncology is a special calling and she got it.  I don’t wish cancer on anyone but I definitely feel that it is NOT FAIR that it would attack my cousin who dedicated her life to helping cancer patients.

 

 How could this happen to my young cousin that has two babies depending on her? She asked me to create the Scrapbooks for her children so they would know who their mother was. She wants them to know what a great life she has, how much fun she is and of course how much she loves them. How do you let these children know what a wonderful person their mother is? You know how sometimes you wonder why life has taken you in one direction or another.  I think it was in God’s master plan that I would be called to do this one day so He led me to open a Scrapbook Store. I don’t think there is a better way to accomplish this task than through our passion, our hobby…scrapbooking.

 

We are in Colorado right now. We spent Thanksgiving with Crystal.  We are going through her pictures and organizing them so we can start making the scrapbooks.  I will be bringing these pictures home with me.  This is where we are pleading for your help.  I know you are all very busy with your day to day lives but if you can find it in your heart and find the time to make a layout for Crystal’s Scrapbook it would be a great big help for us.  We need all different types of layouts.  She will be scrapbooking her journals, emails that people sent to her and greeting cards. We would like these to be 2 page layouts with no set format.  She will also be scrapbooking lots and lots of photos.  We would like these to be 2 page layouts with several mats in different sizes but most for 4×6 photos.  We would also like an exposed spot for journaling (no hidden journaling please).

 

If you would like to know more about Crystal, see pictures and keep updated on her treatment program and her fight against cancer, her friends have started a blog for her. It is www.caringforcrystal.blogspot.com.  We have created a link on our blog that will take you directly to Crystal’s blog.      

 

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this. Thank you for any layouts that you can contribute!!

 

Trish

Tags:

5 Responses to "We Need Your Help…"

Trish, I read Crystal’s Blog and subscribed to her calendar. You do not know me, I have blogged with you a few times and just decided to see what you were up to today. I have made a commitment to follow Crystal’s Calendar and pray for her on a daily basis. I will also prepare some double layouts for her in the following weeks. God Bless You and your family as well.

Ruth Petty

I thought I’d just check in w/you GTG’s last night and read your entry. I was overwhelmed with emotion. I just keep thinking, she’s my age… I was trying to tell my husband about your cousin, but couldn’t finish w/out crying. I will keep Crystal in my prayer’s. No mother with children so young should have to go through this. I am so sorry for you and your family. As I try to catch up on my own scrapping, I will create extra layouts to send your way. You are so strong for doing this, I know it must be tearing you up. My heart goes out to your family…

Love, Tammy

I met Crystal once when she stopped by SGT while visiting Trish. I sat with Trish yesterday going through the photos for Crystal’s scrapbooks. You can see through the photos what a remarkable and wonderful person Crystal is. I am not a real emotional person but looking through those photos I truely got choked up! Being a mom myself I can’t imagine what she is going through and something no mother should ever have to endure. I read the stories on Crystal’s blog and I was in tears. If you get the chance her stories reveal who she is…an amazing mom, friend, wife, and a blessing to all who know her. I feel so priveleged to be a part of creating her scrapbooks. Her story is definately one that needs to be told. Thanks Trish for doing this for Crystal!! Julie

Trish,

Something called me to your website today. I was so sorry to hear about your cousin, and I would not wish this on anyone, especially as young as she with her little babies.

To do this for your cousin is the best gift you can ever give her. I will definetly keep Crystal and your whole family in my prayers.

I would be honored to help with a couple of layouts for Crystal and her family.

Hugs,

Michelle Gutierrez

[…] omg, do i love, love, love it! i did some playing with it today with this layout for Crystal of […]

Leave a Reply

Scrappin’ Good Times

564 W Arrow Hwy. San Dimas, CA

About Us

If you are looking for a great scrapbook store in Southern California, you can stop looking. Scrappin' Good Times in San Dimas, is the place to get all your scrapbooking products! Our Employees and Design Team members contribute to this blog. Feel free to make comments on any of the postings. Thank you, The Scrappin' Good Times Team ________________________________ Hey, we've been nominated again this year! Thanks to all of your votes we're number 1! Best Scrapbooking in the Los Angeles area WE'VE WON!!! Thanks to everyone who Voted! You've made a difference!

Scrappin’ Good Times on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 137,083 hits

Pages

