Scrappin' Good Times Blog

Teenagers

Posted on: May 30, 2008

Last Friday my almost eighteen year old son had friends over. They all were hangin out watchin’ movies. My son asked if the guys could stay the night because they wanted to toilet paper a friends house. I said sure no problem.  I feel asleep and woke up @ 4:00am. I could tell that there were lights on still. I went out to the family room, lights are on but there’s no boy’s. I look upstairs and can see that my sons light is still on. I go up to his room and find one of the boy’s sitting straight up, our giant lab is on his lap and they are both totally asleep. I turn off the light and head back downstairs to the playroom. There I find my 14 year old son dead asleep. I nudge him and ask him where his brother is. He’s so incoherent he can’t even answer. Now I’m getting a little panicked. Humm, maybe there out in the spa. I turn on the pool lights stick my head out, no sign of them…..Their cars, I’ll go see if all the cars are there! Truck, Jeep, one’s missing? Panic and terrible thoughts begin to race through my head. I walk back into my room and wake my husband. “You’re son is not home and it’s 4:00am (notice he’s no longer my son). “Are you sure my husband ask’s I heard them in his room at 2:00”. “We’ll I’ve looked everywhere and I think one of the boy’s cars are gone.” Now my husband is getting dressed so we can have a two man attack. My husband and are both thinking were going to kill him when he gets home, we’ll make sure he’s safe and not hurt and then he’ll get the wrath of Dad and Mom. I go back upstairs still hoping we’re wrong, Maybe he’s sleeping in his brothers room or maybe I missed him on the floor in his. I check the rooms again to no avail. Already in my head I’m canceling his 18th birthday party we’re having for him next weekend. I decide maybe I missed him in the pool I don’t know how but I check again this time turning on all the outdoor lights. I walk across the yard trying to get a better look. nope not there but then I see the trampoline and it dawns on me to check it. All day the kids were sitting out there chatting on it. At first I don’t see anything but then as I get closer I see the blankets. Relief!! The two dummies have dragged every blanket from the house and are sound to sleep, under the stars, on the trampoline. What do they think they’re boy scouts or something! I could of killed them, I was an absolute wreck.I stomp back to the house and announce to my husband that I found them. My husband was just as irritated as I was “what the heck are they sleeping out there for!”. We both flop down into bed with our adrenaline pumping there is no way sleep is going to come any time soon. Then smiling I remembered that the sprinklers come on @ 5:00am and would drench them. 

Well thinkin about it now the whole thing is really very funny. The story would make a great scrap page. To bad I wasn’t some calm, cool collected mama that went and grabbed her camera. Maybe when my 4th child is a teenager and I’ve been through it all before I’ll handle it better. Then again my 4th child is going to be my wild one. I guess I’ll have to stick to those posed photo shoots for my pages.

                                                                                               Traci

1 Response to "Teenagers"

OMGAWD, that is the most hilarious story I have read in a long time. I’m not even a mom, and I was thinking of many endings to your story. None nearly as cute as it truly was!!! Thanks so much for sharing and a much needed laugh!

I think I would have waited with my camera in hand at 5am. A few before shots, with a ton of the AFTERS. I’m evil that way!!!

Leave a Reply

Scrappin’ Good Times

564 W Arrow Hwy. San Dimas, CA

About Us

If you are looking for a great scrapbook store in Southern California, you can stop looking. Scrappin' Good Times in San Dimas, is the place to get all your scrapbooking products! Our Employees and Design Team members contribute to this blog. Feel free to make comments on any of the postings. Thank you, The Scrappin' Good Times Team ________________________________ Hey, we've been nominated again this year! Thanks to all of your votes we're number 1! Best Scrapbooking in the Los Angeles area WE'VE WON!!! Thanks to everyone who Voted! You've made a difference!

Scrappin’ Good Times on Twitter

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 137,065 hits

Pages

